Happy Business Starts Here

Re: Community Spotlight: Levon Stepanian

Community Manager

Levon Stepanian is one of our Senior Technical Operations Managers at Zuora and you've probably seen some of his posts in our new engineering blog.  We asked Levon a few questions about Zuora, TechOps and more:

1. How do you explain your job at Zuora to other people?
Fun question!  I recently switched to a new role; I was previously responsible for Zuora’s MySQL database infrastructure.  At a high level, my new role involves Customer Centric Planning & Ops  - the best way way to describe my job is that I’ll own and drive Ops Business Capacity Planning , and as part of the role, I’ll be the primary Business Partner for other groups at Zuora including finance, sales, global services and marketing.

2. What was the career path that led you to Zuora?
I’m a software engineer by means of my education.  My career journey has seen me take on various individual contributor and management roles.  My first real job was a software development role with IBM’s Just-in-time Java compiler team over a decade ago in Canada: I worked on a high performance team doing some incredibly innovative things with runtime compilers.  The role at IBM helped me gain a fundamental understanding and appreciation of how programming languages work and interact with hardware.  Fast forward a few jobs and roles to today, where I’m entering my fifth year at Zuora, and starting a new role in Ops.  

In terms of whether what I’m doing now is something I’ve always wanted to do.  I’d say that about half of the roles I’ve held in my career were planned for.

3. What do you love about your job here at Zuora?
It doesn’t feel like a job.  I pretty much feel the same today as I did on my first day at Zuora - that feeling of being a part of something special, being able to contribute to it and watching it grow and become a successful venture.