Happy Business Starts Here

Has anyone figured out how to start revenue recognition before invoicing?

Valued Scholar

Has anyone figured out how to start revenue recognition before invoicing?

Hi Community,

I have a question on the best way to create a revenue schedule for a trial period.

My scenaio is as follows, I have a 15 month subscription, the first 3 months is free (trial period), from the 4 th month i send the customer an invoice. Now my requirement is to show a uniform revenue schedule for the 15 months, which is the total invoice value for the 12 months divided by 15.

For eg. If i charge a monthly billing for $1000 for 12 months, my revenue schedule should show $1333.33 for all 15 months. How is this possible in Zuora?

3 REPLIES 3
Valued Scholar

Re: Has anyone figured out how to start revenue recognition before invoicing?

Hi, I believe my figures in the example are incorrect with regards to the description, I would like to correct it here -

My example subscription is as follows -

If i have a subscription for 15 months, with the first 3 months being on trial period, and I invoice the customer for $1000 from the 4th to the 15th Month. I would like to view have a revenue schedule for this show up as $800 from month1 to month 15. Is this possible through any custom revenue rule?

Zuora Support Moderator

@Bharath - 

This may be what you're looking for: 

If you're looking to recognize the whole amount that would be invoiced for in 12 months ($1,000/month x 12 = $12,000) and have that distributed out across 15 months ($12,000/15 = $800/month) then you may be looking at the Unlimited Recognition Model. Using this model, you'll be able to create a revenue schedule from the subscription charge level without needing to wait for invoice generation.

If you found my answer helpful, please give me a kudo ↑
Help others find answers faster by accepting my post as a solution √

Valued Scholar

Hello Amy,

Thank You. Yes this solution is good.