Subscriptions Ideas

Ideas about Customer Accounts, Subscriptions and Product Catalog

New Idea
bolaurent Master

Master

We prefer to keep the subscription name the same as (or related to) the opportunity name in Salesforce. But once a subscription is activated, the name cannot be changed. Sometimes the subscription was manually entered, and the user forgot to set the name, then we get a really terrible name that is meaningless. Or sometimes there is a typo in the SFDC opp name, and it is changed sometime after the Zuora sub has been created.

 

I wonder why Zuora is so rigid about this? Isn't the subscription ID the unique key?

timozuid Partner

Partner

It would be helpfull to get thousand separators in the Quote quantity fields. The reason for this when a customer is in CPM business the offered quantities can be millions and it's hard the work out the number of zero you have to enter.

zedmundson Tutor

Tutor

We have customers with multiple (about 20) active subscriptions at a time. If we want to cancel a customer account with an effective date, we have to cancel one subscription at a time rather than if the "Cancel Customer Account" feature adding a new pop-up that would let you mass cancel all pending subscriptions. This could be with the same terms for cancelling subscriptions (end of term, last invoice date), but it would be done at a larger scale and saving us time.

kcoyne Tutor

Tutor

New Subscription Status

Status: New Idea
by Tutor kcoyne on ‎11-30-2017 06:48 AM

We would like to request a different status for our one time only subscriptions once they have billed as techinically they are no longer active. This new status would enhance the team's reporting when searching for truly active subscriptions. 

jmorris7 Scholar

Scholar

Inability to Remove Renewal Amendments

Status: New Idea
by Scholar jmorris7 on ‎10-24-2017 08:13 AM

Issue: Inability to remove renewal amendments

 

Description: If a customer accidentally renews the wrong account or renews twice we are unable to remove this renewal. This is due to the fact you can't delete an amendment after invoicing/processing a payment. This is causing us to have to cancel the subscription, apply a credit to the account and have the customer repurchase. This happens very frequently and has caused a high level of aggravation for our customers.

nlittlefield Tutor

Tutor

Subscription Clone Feature

Status: New Idea
by Tutor nlittlefield on ‎09-01-2017 07:45 AM

It would be very helpful for our team to have the option to Clone an existing subscription in the user interface.  Ideally it would create a new one a new subscription for that account with all the same rate plans and products assigned to it as the original, having it prompt only for a new contract/activation date.

gelaimr Z-Support SME

Z-Support SME

Issue: Currently, OriginalID and CancelledDate fields not returned via GET "https://rest.zuora.com/v1/subscriptions/accounts/{account-key}"

 

The customer can use the CRUD call, but they are trying to reduce the number of round trips and complexity of getting all the subscription information. Right now if a user has several subscriptions they need to loop through and get the two additional fields of data for each subscription, if this information could just be returned with "https://rest.zuora.com/v1/subscriptions/accounts/{account-key}" it would reduce complexity.

 

Reference: SUB-5844

 

 

peterscheen Scholar

Scholar

HI

Is there any way or will there be an opportunity to be able to uppgrade or downgrade multiply different users/products on 1 singel amendment? 

 

As fare as i know, today there's only possible to add or downgrade 1 specific type of users or products pr amendment

Zuora-Support Community Manager

Community Manager

The subscriptions that are not renewed ( either manual or auto) on the renewal due date should be marked as 'expired' once the renewal due date is past.

Currently, it continues to be displayed as 'Active' which is misleading.

Status: Unlikely

We will be adding this capability, but it will not be coming within the next few quarters.

bsanders Valued Scholar

Valued Scholar

Current functionality with Subscription Amendments in the UI is that only a single Product Rate Plan can be Added / Edited / Removed per Subscription Amendment. This results in multiple amendments to start, amend, or end a subscription when multiple rate plans are being processed together. It would be very useful to be able to Select Multiple Specific / All when Remove Product amendment is selected, and be able to add / edit multiple rate plans per New Product / Update Product amendment.

Status: Coming Soon
fredkao Partner

Partner

Upgrade / Downgrade Amendment

Status: Coming Soon
by Partner on ‎08-04-2016 12:19 PM

 

Create a new amendment type of "Upgrade" or "Downgrade" that combines a Remove Product and New Product amendment.  This would be more convenient than trying to figure out if the two amendments (Remove + New) are related and what direction (Up or Down) the change is going.

 

Currently, we use delta MRR to see if it's an upgrade (positive MRR) or downgrade (negative MRR).  But there are some cases where the delta MRR is 0, but from a product standpoint, it may be an upgrade or downgrade.

 

Thanks for reading!

Status: Coming Soon
bolaurent Master

Master

let me set the order in which productrateplans are displayed (on product page and in dropdown when adding to a subscription)

kshah Scholar

Scholar

Currently contracted MRR shows amount without discount and doesn't consider discount sku amount. It should be amount after applying discount.

In the following example it is showing 10,080/12=  840 however, it should be really 10,080-2,580= 7,500/12 = 625. Please look into this !

 

MRR_Discount.PNG

 

MRR_Discount-1.PNG

sbradley Honor Student

Honor Student

Ability to combine / merge subscriptions

Status: Unlikely
by Honor Student sbradley on ‎02-26-2016 07:30 AM

We are just coming into Zuora, and we have many scenarios where our customers may have multiple products with multiple different renewal dates.  This is translating into multiple subscriptions as we get them loaded into the system.

 

Going forward, our reps would love to be able to combine and co-terminate these subscriptions to make things simpler for our customers where possible, but at the moment we're telling them that they have to manually transfer all of the lines from the old subscriptions to the new subscriptions because there is no capacity to join these together.

 

This would be a great help for us, and I'm sure for many other new customers coming on to the Zuora platform!

Status: Unlikely
Zuora-Support Community Manager

Community Manager

The problem we are facing is that--today--our only mechanism for adding new products (and rate plans, charges) and updating products/rate plans/charges is through the UI. This can be prone to human error as each entry must be keyed in separately and manually. We will be adding and updating Products/rate plans/charges at an increasing frequency and manual keyed entries will not scale.
We would like a bulk update tool that is usable by a business/non-technical user.
Without diving too deeply into a solution, I believe we would be well served by having a simple tool that accepted, validated, and set up new and updated items through some upload process--for example of a comma-separated value file--with manual steps only to verify the data to be added/updated. This could be through the UI or a RESTful API.
Another possible solution could be more of a "grid-view" into the products/rate plans/charges that allow for multiple data entries on a single pane of view, but this may not be effective for certain use cases.

 

jbrown Scholar

Scholar

Add Align to Billing Term Option

Status: New Idea
by Scholar jbrown on ‎09-15-2016 03:27 AM

The Billing Period Alignment options allow for "Align to Charge" and "Align to Term."  However, if you want all of your recurring charges to invoice on the same schedule, no matter what the renewal term or billing term, there is no setting.

 

We use "Align to Term" now and if customers have matching Billing Period and Renewal Term (Monthly billing and 1 month Renewal, for example), a mid-term change will generate a prorated invoice for the remainder of the month and then pick up all charges at the next billing period.  This works great.  But when we have a customer that has Quarterly billing period and monthly renewals for example, a mid-term change misaligns those same charges with the same settings.  Since charges are configured by Billing Frequency, we only have the ability to configure our Quarterly charge with one option.  So changes for this customer are manual every time. 

vpoliseno New Student

New Student

We'd like to be able to have a template to mass update the following field:

  • Additional Email Addresses
  • Invoice Template
  • Communication Profile to the Account
  • Tax Exempt Certificate ID
  • Tax Exempt Issuing Jurisdiction?
scott_westbrook Zuora Staff

Zuora Staff

The Subscribe call includes Invoice processing options which only allow for:

 

1. Invoice Date

2. Invoice Target Date

3. Processing Scope - Account or Subscription level

 

This does not allow for the optional filtering of which charge types you want to appear on this invoice i.e. Recurring, One-Time or Usage charges only or a combination of all 3. The Generate Invoice call does include these options with the inclusion of the following fields:

 

1. IncludesOneTime = Set to True or False

2. IncludesRecurring = Set to True or False

3. IncludesUsage = Set to True or False

 

Could the Susbcribe call be extended to include these fields?

Status: Under Consideration

We would consider it, but it's unlikely to come in the short to medium term.

alia Tutor

Tutor

Managing rate plans under a product is painful in the current Zuora Admin UI.

These are my top requests listed in order of importance (to me at least).

 

1. when a rate plan is inactive ther is no indication in the UI - i have to click "edit" and look at the end date to confirm. Even if it was like the product list where the inactive products are organge that would be helpful. Maybe the effective dates could be displayed by the rate plan name - i.e. "Product Name (1/1/2015 - 5/25/2017)" 

 

2. the only sorting available is the default of most recently updated at the top - this gets particularly annoying if you are going through the list making updates b/c the list changes with every save and you have to re-orient yourself to where you are in the list. There are times when having an alphabetical list would be useful.

 

3. it would be nice to have "view" option for charges under the rate plan. it doesn't feel like good practive to go into an "edit" view just to look at tier values or some such.

conklinb Partner

Partner

Create functionality to allow an effective date for rate plan pricing.  This functionality would allow pricing to be entered in advance of the "go live" date and would be a building block for future functionality around communication of pricing increases for renewals to customers ahead of time; the ability to get a correct price if increases are coming and there are amendments taking affect during the next renewal cycle; as well as forcasting revenue with future pricing included

Status: Unlikely

This is on our longer term product roadmap to provide much more flexible pricing capability, but is unlikely in the shorter term