Happy Business Starts Here

Advanced Tutor

Two questions on handling new customers who fail their initial payment...

Let's say I have a new customer (Mike) who wants to subscribe to my monthly service (MovieClub). He wants service to start in the future, say 6/1/16 and the MRR is $30. The following occurs:

1. On 6/1/16, the bill is created for $30 but the payment fails (let's say it's a credit card decline).
  2. Because of the payment failure, we do not turn on Mike's MovieClub service.
  3. Five days later on 6/6/16, Mike calls and wants to use a different credit card for payment. 

At this point, I think there are two options from a pure business POV:

• Option #1 - charge Mike $30 and change his monthly bill date to the 6th of each month
  • Option #2 - keep Mike's monthly bill on the 1st of each month, but pro-rate his first bill and payment to $25 

Are both of these options possible through Zuora? If yes, how?

I'm new to Zuora, so please use "small words" Smiley Happy. I know there are multiple dates in Zuora (Contract Effective, Activation Date, Target date for Billing and Payment Runs), etc but I'm not sure how they interplay in this scenario.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions! 

Thanks,
Doug

3 REPLIES 3
Support SME

Re: Two questions on handling new customers who fail their initial payment...

Hi @dmark

If you collect the Payment when generating a subscription and the Payment fails during the subscribe process, the whole transaction gets rolled back (the creation of payment, invoice, subscription and account objects all get deleted).

However if you create the account and subscription first, and only generate and invoice and attempt to collect a payment in a separate transaction, the payment simply fails, and now you have a customer with an outstanding invoice for the period 6/1/16 - 6/30/16. Please note Zuora does not automatically remove any services in case of a payment failure.

You have the following options: